Our unfamiliar backyard

04_sveta_6

Photos & Text: Svetlana Bandurka

My backyards trip fell on August. This is a nice, warm time, summer holidays. The sun is shining, and things should be really humming in the backyards. I am doing a research work, I have to find answers to some questions. What are they like, today’s backyards? What are their similarities and differences? Are they disappearing or transforming? Does it depend on the district they are located in?

vk f

Research Question

Irkutsk yards: special world or only the area around houses?

The first backyard I went to is located in a modern apartment complex, it is less than one year old. It is cold. Concrete. Faceless. Well, it does have a face, but I didn’t like it. Although it had everything: benches, volleyball and basketball courts, swings and something else for kids. And yet, kids were missing. I felt pity for a lonely boy who seemed to be locked in this space of sport playgrounds. One could see that he was bored hanging around these street lamps decorated with painted grass. He didn’t find the place welcoming or nice. Me neither. This was not my backyard. Let’s go further.

Dvor (usually translated from Russian either as “backyard” or “courtyard”) is an inside common area surrounded by apartment buildings or houses. Such open space is usually used for parking and recreational activities, mainly by those living in the area.

Now that other, old backyard, which didn’t seem to be special. Its decoration consisted just of a hand-made mushroom – a stump and an old washing pan painted in red – but this is the place I would like to come back to in autumn to see a carpet of colourful leaves, and in winter to enjoy the graphic art of the trees and old stairs. This was pleasant to my eyes.

And suddenly there was a surprise: a picturesque footpath brought me to… Saint-Petersburg. The same arched passageways; the sound of steps echoes in all corners of the backyard; pigeons and a local cat were hiding under a car. I had almost forgotten that there is such a passage-backyard in Irkutsk. I got stuck for a while here. Liked it. A special atmosphere. Very photographic. I would even say cinema-photographic.

The backyards of the wooden houses and low-rise buildings are special. Here one can feel life and see that for people living in this area the backyard is not simply the territory adjacent to the houses. It is their space, and to strangers it might even appear hostile.  It seems to me that the more central the district, the more unfriendly is the backyard. And I see why: too many strangers – people, cars – are trying to get in. That’s why it fences itself off in all possible ways, using chains, cartons, fences. It is hiding its inhabitants from the eyes of strangers.

Backyards of the Khrushchyovka-apartment buildings. They are closer and more understandable to me. Perhaps because I spent my childhood in such a backyard. But they are different as well. This one is welcoming, that one is not. Why? Why does one backyard find an emotional echo within me, and the other not? I don’t know. Maybe it is the swing? An old, creaky, iron swing. And the sky above this swing would fall down on you. I remember them. This is from my childhood. From my life. Or a sandpit in the form of a mushroom. To me, it conveys a warm feeling as well.

It is here, in these backyards, that one can meet aunt Sonya, grandma Vera, uncle Kolya – such people who give individuality to the backyards. Aunt Sonya is taking care of trees and flowers, the rose of grandma Vera is 15 years old already, and old car tyres are used for sunchoke beds. Uncle Kolya even has a pigeon-house. And no one wants to think what will happen to these backyards once this enthusiastic soviet generation will go away. Well, such “orphaned” backyards do already exist. Valentina Nikolaevna said once, ‘I am the only one left from our people. The others are just tenants’.

Backyards can also talk. No one seems to be there, but we can see (and read) that Masha loves Sasha, Varya is upset, road sweeper Farid is missing his homeland. The backyard is talking to us, just slightly opens a door into its life. Maybe the key to it is stored in apartment 85?

And, of course, the cars, they are the backyard dwellers. The higher and more modern the house is, the more cars there will be in its backyard. What else can a backyard offer to its inhabitants? Just a parking space and a little place in the centre, furnished with standard slides and sandpits for toddlers and proudly called playground. Maybe nothing else is needed? Maybe it is just a carry-over from old times – I mean all those questions and screams coming out of the windows, such as ‘Vovochka, it’s time to come home!’, ‘Kostya, cut out and get some kefir!’, ‘Palych, what do you think of a dominoes game right now?’

Time is running, the world is changing, backyards are changing as well. Who knows, maybe one day, later, one will be able to enter a backyard, to sit down with a book from a backyard library, to read on an information desk that a son was born to Katya and Misha from App. 35, and Petr Ivanych from App. 7 will celebrate his jubilee in two days.

Summer time is holiday time for backyards. It is calm, almost deserted. That is how it appeared to me today. Tomorrow it may be different, and it might be really humming here. And where I felt sadness, there will be fun, or the other way around.

And so it turned out that it didn’t work out with my research. But I have understood one thing: to know whether or not a backyard is alive, one has to live there. To see it in the morning, in the evening, during the day, in the night, in winter and in summer. Only then one can understand what it is like, the backyard. This backyard. And another one has a completely different life. And, by the way, let the swings remain. Even the creaky ones, because when I hear swings creaking, it means this backyard is alive.

Свой чужой двор

04_sveta_6

Текст и фото: Светлана Бандурка

Мое путешествие по дворам пришлось на август. Прекрасное время — тепло, солнышко, каникулы, во дворах должна кипеть жизнь. Я стараюсь сделать исследование, поэтому, хотя мне и проще говорить визуальными образами, ставлю перед собой несколько вопросов. Какие они — современные дворы? Чем похожи, чем отличаются? Исчезают или трансформируются? Зависят ли от того, в каком районе расположены?

vk f

Исследовательский вопрос

Иркутске дворы — это особый мир или только территория, прилегающая к дому?

Первый двор, в который я попала, находится в современном жилом комплексе, и ему не больше года. Он холодный. Бетонный. Безликий. Нет, у него есть лицо, но оно мне не понравилось. Там было все — лавочки, волейбольная и баскетбольная площадки, качели, что-то еще для ребятни. Не было только ребятни. Мне даже стало жаль одинокого мальчишку, запертого на ключ в этом пространстве для спортивных игр. Видно было, как ему скучно среди этих фонарей с нарисованной у основания травкой. Ему было неуютно, и мне тоже. Это не мой двор. Идем дальше.

В этом старом дворе нет ничего особенного. Из всех украшений — самодельный грибок из пенька и  покрашенного красной краской старого тазика. Но именно туда хочется вернуться осенью, чтобы посмотреть на ковер из разноцветных листьев, а зимой — полюбоваться графикой деревьев и ступеней старой лестницы. Моим глазам здесь хорошо.

А вот сюрприз. Очень живописная дорожка вдруг привела в Питер. Те же арочные переходы, гулкие шаги по асфальту, эхом отдающиеся в разных сторонах двора, голуби, и местный кот прячется под машиной. Я и забыла, что в Иркутске есть такой двор-переход с особой атмосферой. Задержалась надолго: очень фотографично, я бы даже сказала — кинематографично.

Дворы деревянных и малоэтажных каменных домов особенные: здесь чувствуется жизнь. Видно, что для их жителей двор — это не просто территория, по которой приходишь к своему дому. Это их пространство, и к чужим оно относится даже враждебно. Мне показалось, что, чем ближе к центру район, тем враждебнее двор. И я его понимаю: слишком много посторонних — как людей, так и машин — пытаются в него проникнуть. Вот он и отгораживается всеми способами — цепями, картонками, заборами, прячет своих обитателей от посторонних глаз.

Дворы хрущевок. Мне они ближе и понятнее. Наверное, потому, что в таком дворе прошло мое детство. Но они тоже разные. Этот уютный, а тот — нет. Почему один двор находит эмоциональный отклик в моей душе, а другой нет? Не знаю. Может быть, все дело в качелях? Старые, скрипучие, железные. И небо над ними вот-вот перевернется. Я их помню, это из детства. Это из моей жизни. Или песочница-грибок — от нее тоже теплеет на душе.

Именно в таких дворах есть свои тети Сони, бабы Веры, дяди Коли, которые делают двор индивидуальным. Потому что только у дяди Коли голубятня, у тети Сони — семь сосенок и георгины, а у бабы Веры уже 15 лет цветет роза и тапинамбур в старых резиновых колесах. Когда уйдет поколение советских энтузиастов, дворы осиротеют. Валентина Николаевна, с которой я познакомилась во время прогулок, сказала: «Из своих только я осталась, остальные — квартиранты».

Еще дворы умеют разговаривать. Вроде бы безлюдно, но мы видим, что Маша любит Сашу, Варя обиделась, а дворник Фарид тоскует по родине. Так двор говорит с нами, приоткрывает дверь в свою жизнь.

И, конечно, во дворах живут машины. Чем новее и выше дом, тем больше машин живет в его дворе. Что может предложить такой двор своим жителям? Только парковку да небольшое пространство в центре с однотипными горками и песочницами для дошколят, гордо именуемое детскими площадками. А может, больше ничего и не надо? Может, это уже пережиток прошлого — все эти в форточку: «Вовочка, пора домой!», «Костя, сбегай за кефиром!», «Палыч, как на счет партии в домино?»

Мир меняется, меняются и дворы. А, может, когда-нибудь, зайдя в любой двор, снова можно будет посидеть с книжкой из дворовой библиотеки и увидеть на доске новостей, что у Кати и Миши из 35-й квартиры родился сын, а у Петра Иваныча из 7-й послезавтра юбилей.

Тихо, почти пустынно. Лето — это отпуск для дворов. Но это сегодня, а завтра в этом дворе, может, будет кипеть жизнь и все будет по другому. Там, где мне было грустно, станет весело, и наоборот.

Выходит, что никакого исследования у меня не получилось. Но я поняла, чтобы узнать, жив ли двор, надо в нем жить. Надо видеть его утром, вечером, днем и ночью, зимой и летом. Только тогда можно понять, какой он, именно этот двор. Потому что другой двор — это другая жизнь. И, да, пусть качели останутся, даже скрипучие. Если я слышу их скрип, значит, двор жив.