Windows of Transition

23_olga_img_5090start

Text: Olga Zharkova, Elena Lozhnikova
Photos: Anton Klimov, Olga Zharkova, Pavel Zharkov

Tourists and photographers love taking pictures of wooden houses in Irkutsk’s center. Shutters and casings are in focus of course. But windows are special parts of houses. They connect living residences with streets and at the same time serve as borders between these two worlds. At one time that mediatory function of windows had a sacred meaning, and tradition prohibited throwing garbage out of a window for example or even entering or leaving a house through one. Nowadays probably only folklorists remember the meanings of these taboos, but have windows’ functions changed? We tried to organize our impressions from observations of the life of wooden houses’ windows in the town center.

vk f

Windows as display

Research question

How do house windows participate in the inhabitants’ interaction with town spaces and people?

Even when you are in a hurry you manage to catch some unusual elements on windows or behind them. At a closer look, vivid details can tell you about the owners of the windows and some of the details can be addressed to you – the passerby. For example, Christmas decorations impress when you see them in the midst of summer carefully laid out between the window frames above some material that represents snow. Besides Christmas-tree decorations and tinsel, you can see paper snowflakes, moss, and dried berries, pine cones, plastic toys and bunches of mountain ash berries. Knowing traditional Irkutsk practices of preparing the home for a change of seasons you understand that utility precedes ornamentation.

Before the cold weather season wooden house residents install second, inner frames to their windows. Newly formed cracks are filled with cotton wool and glued over with pieces of paper or fabric (you can make the glue for this yourself – you just need to add cold water to flour, slowly pour in boiling water and then cool it down). The space between the frames is insulated with cotton wool and decorated. In spring the inner frames are taken out, cleaned and put in the storeroom. The process is labor-intensive and perhaps that is why double frames with Christmas ornaments can be seen more and more frequently in summer too. Usually it is temporary residents who put aside labor-intensive practices (in recent years flats in wooden houses are being rented by families of migrant workers from warm countries). No one changes the frames in neglected houses either.

With the installation of double-glass unit windows instead of frames the width of the windowsills became noticeably larger. Big and often exotic plants appeared on them as they began to be sold in the town then. Rare ones especially show (intentionally or unconsciously) the status of the owner. Now there are lots of plants on sale and it seems that window gardening is an obligatory hobby of all who live on the first floor.

It is hard to explain it only by practical function: flowers can be a barrier to the view, but to a greater extent they block the daylight that is already scarce on the lower floors. The inhabitants themselves talk about decorative functions:

“What is it for? Only for esthetics. When we moved here I started to buy flowers right away and take them from friends and people started to give them to us. While we lived in a “Khrushchev-era” apartment on the fourth floor we didn’t have a single flower at home. And here almost everyone has them. It’s like a tradition. A neighbor used to live nearby – a poor drunkard; she had lived there from time immemorial. She had all her windowsills covered with flower pots. But with time I started to take all the tall plants away from the window as they were blocking the light”

Raisa

The woman didn’t point out for whom the “esthetics” was – for family or passersby, and it is hard to tell. And if there is a set tradition it means that window plants impress those who see the window from the outside.

Windows can be decorated with other objects too, for example with toys, figurines, unique things or fruits and vegetables. In these cases the marker “for us” or “for passersby” can be quite definite.

If toys and figurines are turned away from us, it means that the windowsill for the owners is a continuation of the room, an additional shelf and sometimes even storage space. Thus you can often see nicely piled or just scattered folders and books on the windowsills of offices. But if toys face you, china ballerinas bow toward the street and souvenir plates are shown in detail it means that the window is an opportunity for the owners to welcome the street, to pronounce the distinctness of their family and flat.

This is clear, even if the owners explain such a presentation with practical reasons. Thus on a windowsill of a flat in Irkutsk’s center you can see souvenir plates “Prague”, “Sochi”, “Crimea” and a figurine of a Chinese dragon. On our comment “You seem to travel a lot” the owner got a little bit embarrassed:

“No, it’s my wife’s friend, she is a sportswoman, and she brings them to us as gifts from different countries. There is not enough space in the cupboard; we have no other place to put them”.

Office owners can attract attention to their business and atmosphere intentionally. Then a window serves as an advertising showcase, granted that it is still a norm only for the first floors on busy streets. On quieter streets it is not a rule even for cafés and shops.

Windows as protection

Shutters protect wooden houses from outside threats – wind, snow-storms, thieves and robbers. Walking along streets with continuous wooden houses, you can observe daily morning and evening procedures: no matter the time of year, people living on the first floor go outside twice a day. In the morning to open the shutters, fixing them to the façades by hooks. In the evening, to close the shutters, pressing them inwards with a metal bar. This ritual, unknown to the inhabitants of high-rise buildings, sets the pace of the daily life of those who live on the first floor of “wooden blocks”.

In the case of the long absence of flat owners there are two main practices: shutters are held shut by a special metal device that is fixed on the inside and doesn’t let shutters be opened from outside – this is called to close with a “bolt” or a “chikuschka”.  The technical name of this metal rod is “hinge pivot”, but it seems that no one who uses it knows this name. The second way is to ask neighbors to open and close the shutters so people outside think that the house is not empty. It is safe to say that in this case the symbolic function of shutters is being practiced: they act like a sign of security.

In the wild nineties people started to protect the windows with grills. In windows where there are double frames, grills (if they are present) are fixed between the frames. In windows with double-glass panes the grills are sometimess located on the inside.

Electrically controlled metal shutters are used for protection in the offices that appeared in the “wooden blocks” in the center. Shutters became optional as additional heat and sound insulation (a windscreen) after the wide-scale installation of double-glass unit windows.

Walking after dark along the former Soldatsky Streets (Lapina, Gryaznova, Kievskaya, Khmelnitsky), you can find out that the number of windows closed with shutters almost equals the number of those that are not protected by shutters. In some houses on the same streets the windows are closed with shutters even during the day. It means that the space waits for a new owner or tenant or that the destiny of the house is decided in some other way. Shutters become less and less useful functionally and it seems that even in inhabited houses they will soon remain just as an architectural element.

Windows as borders

In wooden houses the windows of the first floor are often located at the level of human height, and the floor there can be lower than the pavement outside: a “cultural layer” built up over a century and sinking of the building foundations have made rooms highly exposed to outside examination. A glance (even flashed in passing) involuntary catches interior details that the residents hardly wanted to show. That is why the rules of courtesy dictate that passersby have a quick, ideally imperceptible glance at someone else’s home.

When you observe or even take pictures of someone else’s windows as part of your “work”, discomfort becomes conscious and tangible. A person taking a peep into a stranger’s life is in the situation of visual dominance. Naturally the discomfort is also felt by the person whose life has suddenly become an object of interest of people who he or she doesn’t even know. The residents of “wooden blocks” usually don’t like it when somebody takes pictures of their windows. On directing a camera lens at windowsills we often encountered the unwelcoming reaction of the owners who suddenly appeared behind the window or even at the door.

The indignation transformed into more or less lively conversation and even fostering  (sometimes in the form of specialist consultation), if we introduced ourselves as tourists or historians interested in the house itself or if we just talked about an interest in an exotic plant on the windowsill.

Such a change in response is evident proof that the residents feel the border between the house and the street both as a boundary of their private space and as a public space. When the attention of the street crosses that boundary there arises a feeling of a threat of invasion (even if it is of only a visual one), but an active interest in “wooden Irkutsk” is accepted as a norm at least in the town center.

The border is pretty vulnerable and the owners strengthen it with thick curtains, several layers of net curtains, not so often with the help of blinds. Here is an example of “work” with that border from a young woman living on the first floor and complaining that when she turns on the light, the room is  seen from the outside all the way through, up to “the opposite wall”:

“I don’t want to turn my room into a cinema for passersby. I buy beautiful curtains, they are pretty thick. From time to time I walk outside to see what my window looks like from the outside. It is my window onto the world so it should be beautiful“(

Elena

Some new owners of “wooden blocks” psychologically try to adapt to the conditionality of the border:

“I moved into this house when it was still a dormitory, I occupied one room. Gradually I bought the whole house, I did it up, and I made an annex. I don’t worry about people walking by my windows. The house is an architectural monument, people especially foreigners often take picturesof it. All that I do – paint the shutters, choose the curtains – I do for myself. Who cares? I‘m not interested in other people’s opinions. I have lots of flowers on the windowsills. So what if they have some yellow leaves? I will take them off when I have time”

Valentina

In that comment you can see that the border between private and public means more to this woman than she would like it to. And this is the testimonial of a person who grew up in a wooden house and experiences acutely the conditionality of the borders (that we are talking about) as an unavoidable part of life in “wooden blocks”:

” I have lived in a flat on the first floor of a wooden house in Irkutsk’s center since I was born. I remember that I was always ashamed when I approached my house with my classmates because when you show the windows of a high-rise building saying. “This is my house”, it is not the same degree of your privacy as when you approach an old wooden house and point to its windows: “This is my house”. I always dreamed of moving, of living in a high-rise building only because of that. But it is easier to breathe in a wooden house”

Alyona

Window as a check point

Besides protecting from outside examination, curtains on windows can be of other service to the owners: they allow one to secretly follow what is happening outside. A window becomes a filter. Semi-translucent net curtains that are probably on most windows in Irkutsk serve best for this. Guests knock on the window so the owners know for whom they are about to open the door. Through the windows they help strangers to find a house they are looking for. Through the windows they sort things out with the drivers of buses and “marshrutkas” (minibuses) that park for “lunch” in front of their windows. In other cases owners avoid direct visual contact, only children, studying the street from the windowsill, play visual games with passersby. In houses where there are no grills children use windows to get out of or into the house.

“I used to lose my keys quite often and of course I climbed through the window to get home. My girlfriend-classmates visited me climbing through the windows too; my parents probably still have no idea about it. Now I have a seven year old son. Once I left him home alone for a short time, I locked the door but when I was back I found him playing football with friends outside”.

Oksana

Esthetics and pragmatics

Wooden houses of Irkutsk after the great fire, that is the ones that were built at the end of the 19th – beginning of the 20th century, usually have high windows. Light in the house and architectural “hipness” were clearly more important than the wood consumption. And esthetics was a part of a pragmatic consideration: the attractiveness of a house had a commercial value no matter what function it served. Now pragmatics is in conflict with esthetics. As a commentator on one of Irkutsk websites noted: “this old wooden house looks like a mammoth with a set of false teeth of double-glass windows”.

“When we moved here we installed double-glass windows right away. Noise, petrol, exhaust gases have to be blocked somehow. There were enough other noises too – scenes on the streets, drunken shouts at nights, fifteen to twenty years ago the atmosphere was quite aggressive here”

Mark

Now double glass panes are in the majority of houses. First of all they are in the houses that look like well-preserved ones. Quite often it offends the eye being in discord with shutters and casings. Though new windows were not a caprice but a practical necessity for those who was setting up a flat or an office in “wooden blocks”:

“When we looked for a flat we wanted to live in a beautiful house of course. Our house is a monument. But we had to isolate ourselves somehow. Cars are always going by or are left in front of our windows – it isn’t the beginning of the twentieth century anymore”.

Mikhail

Windows with outside metal blinds seem to be out of place to the same extent as double-glass windows. It is likely that some time should pass before pragmatics and esthetics will fit in together.

“The grill is from the former residents, I have a security alarm system in place. As soon as I can afford it I will order another grill with a curve for flower pots”

Ananstasiya

Observations of the life of Irkutsk’s first floor windows that began in the summer and were finished in winter proved to us that the windows play various roles (display, protection, border, space for decoration, check point), and, for our work, always have a key function – they are mediators in the communication between the street and the house residents. Usually windows “act” in the interests of their owners but sometimes they become independent subjects of communication by telling more than their owners would like them to.

Being participants in social communication, windows also reflect the changes that happen in the world of people. One example is the fundamental change in the modern dweller’s attitude to time or, to be exact, the gradual fading of traditional cycles and seasons of life. It can be seen in the example of the spaces between window frames: it is quite rare now that there are any changes here from June to December. This tradition has started to disappear because of the speeding up (frequent moving, lack of time for labor-intensive practices) and complexity (individual schedules, migration rates, etc.) of time.

Is there a change in the other practices too? Yes, there is. But in the process of observation it became clear that to follow up and analyze that process is much harder than we thought before.  Possibly our attempts were premature: former practices are gone or disappearing, but new ones haven’t become perceptible trends yet. The changes are connected with the change in the owners that means the function of the houses changes too. The circle of those who live now in ‘wooden blocks’ in the town’s center is socially patchy, the owners of  non-residential property often change, also changing the function of the place. The modern group that would define new functions and rules of window usage seems to be at the stage of taking shape.

Окна переходного периода

Текст: Ольга Жаркова, Елена Ложникова
Фото: Антон Климов, Ольга Жаркова, Павел Жарков

Туристы и фотографы любят снимать деревянные дома в центре Иркутска. В фокусе ставни и наличники. Но окна – это еще и особая часть дома. Они связывают жилище с улицей и одновременно служат границей между этими двумя мирами. Когда-то функциям окна был придан сакральный смысл. Традиция возбраняла, например,  выбрасывать через окно мусор или выходить через него на улицу. Сегодня о смыслах этих табу помнят разве что фольклористы, но изменились ли функции окна? Мы систематизировали впечатления от наблюдений за жизнью окон деревянных домов в центре города.

vk f

Окно как витрина

Исследовательский вопрос

Как окна домов участвуют во взаимодействии  жителей с пространством города и горожанами?

Даже когда спешишь, зрение невольно вылавливает необычные элементы на оконных стеклах или за ними. При более внимательном рассмотрении яркие детали могут рассказывать о хозяевах окон, а некоторые быть адресованы именно тебе — прохожему. Впечатление производят, например, новогодние украшения, в разгар лета, заботливо разложенные в междурамье поверх материала, имитирующего снег. Кроме елочных игрушек и мишуры, можно увидеть вырезанные из бумаги снежинки, мох, сушеные ягоды, шишки, пластиковые игрушки или кисти рябины. Зная традиционные для Иркутска практики подготовки жилья к смене сезонов, понимаешь, что декоративности предшествует утилитарность.

Перед наступлением холодов жители старых деревянных домов вставляют в окна вторые, внутренние рамы. Образовавшиеся щели проконопачивают ватой и заклеивают полосками бумаги или ткани (клейстер для этого можно сделать самостоятельно — достаточно муку развести в холодной воде, влить тонкой струйкой в кипящую воду, а потом остудить). Межрамные пространства утепляют ватой и украшают. Весной внутренние рамы вытаскивают, моют и прячут в кладовку. Процесс трудоемкий, и, может быть, поэтому двойные рамы с зимними украшениями все чаще можно заметить и летом. Обычно от трудоемких практик отказываются временные жильцы (в последние годы квартиры в деревянных домах снимают семьи трудовых мигрантов из теплых стран). Не меняют рамы и в запущенных домах.

Когда началась эпоха стеклопакетов, ширина подоконников заметно увеличилась. На подоконниках появились крупные, часто экзотические декоративные растения, которые начали продаваться в городе. Особенно редкие (намеренно или невольно) тогда говорили о статусности хозяев. Сейчас таких растений довольно много, и возникает впечатление, что комнатное цветоводство – непременное хобби тех, кто живет на первых этажах.

Сугубо практическими функциями это сложно объяснить: цветы могут служить преградой для взглядов, но в большей степени загораживают дневной свет, который и так в дефиците на первых этажах. Сами жители говорят о функциях декоративных:

«Для чего? Только ради эстетики. Когда мы переехали, я сразу стала покупать и брать у друзей цветы, и дарить их нам начали. Пока жили в «хрущевке» на четвертом этаже, ни одного растения в квартире не было.А здесь почти у всех. Как традиция. Рядом соседка жила — бедная пьянчужка, она тут была с незапамятных времен. Так у ней все подоконники в горшках с цветами были. А я через некоторое время стала убирать с окна те, что повыше, чтобы свет не заслоняли»

Раиса

Для кого предназначалась «эстетика» — для семьи или прохожих — женщина не уточнила, но разделить это трудно. И если сформировалась традиция, значит, растения на подоконнике впечатляют тех, кто смотрит на окно с улицы.

Окна могут быть украшены и другими предметами, например, игрушками, статуэтками, оригинальными вещицами или плодами. В этих случаях маркеры «для себя» или «для прохожих» могут быть вполне определенными.

Если игрушки и статуэтки повернуты к нам своими затылками, значит, подоконник для хозяев — продолжение квартиры, дополнительная полка, а иногда и склад. Так на подоконниках офисов часто встречаются стоящие аккуратно или брошенные папки и книги. Но если игрушки смотрят на нас, фарфоровые балерины кланяются в сторону улицы, а сувенирные тарелки видны во всех подробностях, значит, окно для хозяев – возможность приветствовать улицу, заявить об индивидуальности своей семьи и квартиры.

Это очевидно, даже если хозяева объясняют такую презентацию практическими соображениями. Так, на подоконнике квартиры на одной из улиц в центре Иркутска можно увидеть сувенирные тарелочки «Прага», «Сочи», «Крым», а также фигурку китайского дракона. Хозяин в ответ на наш вопрос «Вы, наверное, много путешествуете?» несколько смутился:

«Нет, это подруга жены, спортсменка, привозит из разных стран в подарок. В серванте места мало, ставить сувениры некуда».

Хозяева офисов могут привлекать внимание к бизнесу и атмосфере вполне осознанно. Тогда окно выполняет роль рекламной витрины. Правда, до сих пор это норма лишь для первых этажей оживленных улиц. На тех, что потише, это не стало правилом даже для кафе и магазинов.

Окно как защита

Ставни защищают деревянные дома от внешних угроз – ветра, метели, воров и грабителей. Проходя по улицам со сплошной деревянной застройкой, можно  наблюдать ежедневную утреннюю и вечернюю процедуры: независимо от времени года проживающие в квартирах на первом этаже выходят на улицу два раза в сутки. Утром — чтобы открыть ставни, закрепив их  на фасаде  крючками, вечером — закрыть ставнями окно, прижав их металлическим засовом. Этот ритуал, незнакомый жителям многоэтажек, задаёт ритм повседневности для тех, кто живет на первых этажах «деревяшек».

На случай выезда хозяев квартиры на длительный срок существует две основные практики: ставни обязательно закрываются на металлическое  приспособление, которое фиксируется изнутри и не позволяет открыть ставни снаружи — «на болт» или «на чикушку».  Техническое название такого металлического штыря – «шкворень», но его, кажется, не знает никто из тех, кто этим приспособлением пользуется. Второй способ – попросить соседей открывать и закрывать ставни пустой квартиры, дабы у посторонних создалось впечатление, что дом не пустует. Можно сказать, что в этом случае реализуется символическая функция ставен: они выступают как знак защищенности.

В неспокойные девяностые окна стали защищать решетками. Там, где сохраняются двойные рамы, решетки (если они есть), укреплены между рам. В окнах со стеклопакетами решетки могут быть установлены  со стороны улицы  или комнаты.

В офисах, расположенных в «деревяшках», для защиты также используют металлические жалюзи с электроприводом. А как дополнительная теплоизоляция (ветрозащита) и звукоизоляция ставни стали необязательными после массовой установки стеклопакетов.

Прогуливаясь в темное время суток по бывшим Солдатским улицам (Лапина, Грязнова, Киевская, Хмельницкого), можно обнаружить, что число окон, закрытых ставнями, примерно равно числу тех, которые ставнями не защищены. В некоторых домах на тех же улицах окна закрыты ставнями даже днем. Это значит, что помещение ждет нового хозяина или арендатора либо участь дома решена как-то иначе. Функционально ставни всё менее нужны, и, кажется, даже в жилых домах скоро останутся  лишь архитектурным элементом.

Окно как граница

В деревянных домах окна первых этажей часто расположены на уровне человеческого роста, а пол в них может оказаться ниже тротуара: наросший за столетие «культурный слой» и осадка зданий сделали комнаты чрезвычайно проницаемыми для внешнего наблюдения. Взгляд, даже брошенный вскользь, невольно улавливает детали интерьера, которые хозяева вряд ли стремились выставлять напоказ. Поэтому правила вежливости предписывают прохожему беглый, по возможности незаметный взгляд на чужое жилище.

Когда рассматриваешь или тем более фотографируешь чужие окна «для дела», дискомфорт становится осознанным и ощутимым. Человек, подглядывающий за чужой жизнью, находится в ситуации визуального доминирования. Естественно, дискомфорт испытывает и человек, жизнь которого вдруг оказывается объектом интереса неизвестных ему людей. Жителям «деревяшек» обычно не нравится, что их окна фотографируют. Наводя объективы фотоаппаратов на подоконники, мы не раз сталкивались с недоброжелательной реакцией хозяев, вдруг появляющихся за окном, а то и в дверях.

Возмущение сменялось более-менее живым общением и даже опекой (иногда в жанре консультации эксперта), если мы представлялись туристами или историками, интересующимися самим домом, или просто говорили об интересе к экзотическому растению на подоконнике.

Подобная смена реакции – очевидное свидетельство того, что жильцы ощущают границу между домом и улицей и как рубеж пространства своей частной жизни, и как общественное пространство. Когда внимание улицы переходит эту границу, возникает ощущение угрозы вторжения в дом (пусть даже визуального), но активный интерес к «деревянному Иркутску», по крайней мере, в центре города, воспринимается как норма.

Граница достаточно уязвима и хозяева укрепляют её  плотными шторами,  несколькими уровнями тюля, реже – с помощью жалюзи. Вот пример «работы» с этой границей от молодой хозяйки, живущей на первом этаже и жалующейся на то, что когда свет в квартире включен, то комната просматривается с улицы «до противоположной стены»:

«Не хочу превращать свою комнату в кинотеатр для прохожих. Шторы покупаю красивые, достаточно плотные. Периодически выхожу посмотреть, как выглядит мое окно снаружи. Это ж мое окно в мир, оно должно быть красивое»

Елена

Некоторые новые хозяева «деревяшек» пытаются психологически приспособиться к условности границы:

«Я заселилась в этот дом, еще когда он был общежитием, занимала одну комнату. Постепенно выкупила весь дом, привела его в порядок, сделала пристрой. То, что мимо окон ходят люди, меня вообще не волнует. Дом — памятник архитектуры, его часто фотографируют, особенно иностранцы. Все, что делаю – крашу ставни, подбираю шторы, все делаю для себя. Кому какое дело? Меня не интересует чужое мнение.  На подоконниках у меня много цветов. Ну и что, что на них желтые листья? Уберу, когда будет время».

Валентина

В этом комментарии можно прочитать, что граница между приватным и публичным значит для нашей собеседницы больше, чем ей хотелось бы. А вот свидетельство человека, выросшего в деревянном доме и остро переживающего условность границы, о которой мы говорим, как неизбежную   часть жизни в «деревяшке»:

«Я живу в квартире на первом этаже деревянного дома в центре Иркутска с рождения. Помню, всегда стеснялась, когда подходила с одноклассницами к своему дому. Потому что когда показываешь на окна многоэтажки со словами: «Вот мой дом», это не та степень приватности, как когда подходишь к старому деревянному домишке и указываешь на окна: «Это мой дом». Всегда мечтала переехать, чтобы жить в многоэтажном доме именно по этой причине. Хотя в деревянном доме легче дышится».

Алена

Окно как пропускной пункт

Помимо защиты от внешнего наблюдения, занавеси на окнах могут сослужить жильцам и другую службу: они позволяют незаметно следить за тем, что происходит снаружи. Окно становится фильтром. Особенно хорошо для этого подходят полупрозрачные тюли, вуали, которыми оснащено, пожалуй, подавляющее большинство иркутских окон. В окно стучат гости, чтобы хозяева знали, открывая дверь, кто к ним пожаловал. Через окно помогают незнакомым людям найти нужный им дом. Через окно выясняют отношения с водителями автобусов и маршруток, паркующихся «на обед» перед окном. В других случаях хозяева избегают прямых визуальных контактов, только дети, изучая с подоконника улицу, вступают в визуальные игры с прохожими.

«Часто теряла ключи от дома и, конечно, лазила через окно. Ко мне в гости залазили и подружки-одноклассницы. Наверное, родители об этом до сих пор не знают. Теперь у меня семилетний сын. Однажды оставила его ненадолго одного, заперла дверь, а когда вернулась, обнаружила, что он преспокойно играет с друзьями во дворе в футбол».

Оксана

Эстетика и прагматика

В деревянных домах послепожарного Иркутска, то есть в тех, что строились в конце 19 – начале 20 века, обычно высокие окна. Свет в доме и архитектурная «модность» явно были важнее, чем расход дров. А эстетика была частью  прагматического расчета: привлекательность дома имела коммерческое значение, какие бы функции он не выполнял. Сейчас прагматика в конфликте с эстетикой. Как заметил комментатор на одном из иркутских сайтов, «этот старый деревянный дом похож на мамонта со вставными челюстями пластиковых стеклопакетов».

«Когда мы переехали, то сразу поставили пластиковые окна. Шум, бензин, выхлопные газы нужно как-то изолироваться. Да и так шума хватало – скандалы на улице, пьяные крики по ночам, среда лет пятнадцать-двадцать назад здесь была довольно агрессивная».

Марк

Стеклопакеты стоят сейчас в большинстве окон. Прежде всего, в тех домах, которые выглядят как хорошо сохранившиеся. Часто это режет глаз, вступая в диссонанс со  ставнями и наличниками. Но новые окна были не прихотью, а практической необходимостью для тех, кто устраивал себе жилье или офис в «деревяшке»:

«Когда искали квартиру, конечно, хотели в красивом доме жить. Наш дом — памятник. Но изолироваться как-то надо было. Машины потоком идут или стоят перед окнами – не начало двадцатого века» .

Михаил

Такими же инородных,  как стекло пакеты, выглядят окна с внешними металлическими жалюзи. Вероятно, должно пройти какое-то время прежде, чем эстетика и прагматика смогут сочетаться.

«Решетки остались от старых хозяев, я квартиру подключила к сигнализации. Как смогу, закажу другие, изогнутые, с выемкой для горшков с цветами».

Анастасия

Наблюдения за жизнью иркутских окон первых этажей, начатые летом и законченные зимой, подтвердили, что окна, выступая в  разных ролях (витрина, защита, граница, пространство для украшения, пропускной пункт), остаются посредниками в  коммуникации улицы и жителей домов. Обычно окна «действуют» в интересах хозяев, но порой становятся самостоятельным субъектом коммуникации, говоря больше, чем хотелось бы их владельцам.

Окна отражают  и перемены, происходящие в мире человека. Один из примеров — фундаментальные изменения отношений современного городского жителя со временем, точнее — постепенный уход от преобладания традиционной цикличности и сезонности жизни. Это видно на примере межрамных пространств: редкое из них меняется от июля к декабрю. Эта натура стала уходящей из-за ускорения времени (частые переезды, недостаток времени на трудоемкие практики) и его усложнения (появление индивидуальных графиков работы и жизни, ритмов миграции).

Происходит ли изменение других практик? Да. Но в процессе наблюдения стало очевидно, что отследить и проанализировать этот процесс сложнее, чем нам казалось в начале.  Возможно, эти попытки преждевременны: прежние практики ушли или уходят, а новые еще не стали по-настоящему заметными.

Перемены связаны с тем, что меняются хозяева домов, а значит, меняется их — домов — назначение. Круг тех, кто сейчас живет в «деревяшках» в центре города, социально пестрый, владельцы нежилой недвижимости часто сменяют друг друга, также меняя функции помещений. Группа людей, которые определят новые функции и правила использования окон, по-видимому, находится в стадии формирования.